Close
  • 7248-Stewart-Island-Lodge.jpg 7248-Stewart-Island-Lodge.jpg

    Stewart Island

    Stewart Island Lodge

    Stewart Island
  • 01-Stewart-Island-Lodge-Halfmoon-Bay.jpg 01-Stewart-Island-Lodge-Halfmoon-Bay.jpg

    Stewart Island

    Stewart Island Lodge

    Halfmoon Bay, Stewart Island
  • Prince-harry-kaka-Lisa-Benson.jpg Prince-harry-kaka-Lisa-Benson.jpg

    Stewart Island Lodge

    Prince Harry

    Stewart Island Lodge
    Credit: Lisa Benson

Stewart Island Lodge

28 January 2017

A piece of paradise

Stewart Island Lodge is located on a steep hill facing Half Moon Bay where the catamarans from Bluff on the mainland moor. It is spacious with 6 nice rooms to cater for in total 12 people, and good shared facilities for cooking, breakfast and relaxation. All rooms open to a large balcony with seats and parasols and magnificent views over the bay. The brush that covers the steep hills are home to many different species of birds, most notably the NZ pigeon, the tui and the bellbird. A continental breakfast is served every morning and transport to and from the harbour is arranged. There are some excellent restaurants on the island, but the biggest attraction is of course a (guided) tour to nearby Ulva Island, a nature reserve that does not have many equals.

Stayed January 2017

Jhelmich, The Netherlands via TripAdvisor

18 December 2016

Gorgeous comfy lodge with amazing views

We spent 3 nights here, and loved it. The rooms are super comfortable and well appointed, I particularly liked the separate luggage room which made it easy to keep the room tidy, and the deep bath after a days walking.

There is a fabulous view down over Oban - the down side is this means a steep hill to walk up and down!
The hostesses were friendly and helpful with plenty of advice on what to do, breakfast was great, with a welcome range of GF options, and there's a nice communal living room. We appreciated being allowed to stay in the lounge after checking out while waiting for our flight.
This place isn't cheap but it was totally worth it.

Stayed December 2016

JoVJo, Wellington, New Zealand via TripAdvisor

10 November 2016

Boutique comfort

If it's good enough for HRH Prince Harry then it's good enough for us.  Bed comfy and Lisa the hostess was both welcoming and accommodating. Breakfast buffet included in price, this offered an impressive selection and guests used the time to share experiences on Stewart Island. Wonderful. Recommend for couples not so much for small children.

Stayed November 2016

Cathy A, Auckland, New Zealand via TripAdvisor

22 October 2016

So tempted to stay longer

Wonderfully comfortable lodge with only about 6 rooms. Great views over the harbour. A fairly steep walk (but short) up to the lodge but they meet you at the ferry in a van, and give you a brief tour of the town before taking you to the lodge. They also take you and your luggage down to the ferry on check out. Enthusiastic friendly host (Lisa) at the lodge with lots of ideas and tips on what to do around the area. Large comfortable rooms and huge bathroom including bath. Enjoyable breakfast with the other guests trading stories of places visited. Only stayed one night, was so tempted to change our plans and stay more. We’ll be back!
Stayed September 2016

JWTSydney, Australia via TripAdvisor

19 September 2016

Amazing stay at the Lodge

We recently stayed 1 night at the Stewart Lodge. This is the place to stay on Stewart Island. The views are amazing and the bed is the best bed I ever slept in! Loved our stay. Every morning and evening we got greeted by the Kaka, one of the native birds on our balcony. It is a bit of a steep walk to the lodge but town centre is just a few minutes walk. In the morning breakfast is provided and the hosts provide a lot of information about activities and walks. We loved our stay and we definitely be back!

Stayed September 2016

Sanne_1281 via TripAdvisor

21 May 2016

Gorgeous accommodation, views and great staff

The two nights spent here were fabulous. Lots of little things are provided, and we cooked a meal with lamb chops and stir fry veges purchased from the little Four Square shop at Stewart Island one night, and a great hamburger at the pub the other.
Staff are knowledgeable and friendly and it was a great way to meet other travellers too.  Rooms are excellent, and the view amazing - and good walking all round, if sometime somewhat steep.

Stayed May 2016

Jennifer via TripAdvisor

16 March 2016

Stunning views

This lodge is positioned on a hill over looking Oban and the bay. Every room has the most stunning view. The rooms are very comfortable and the lodge is surrounded by a gorgeous garden that attracts the local birds. The highlight of this lodge is Lisa who manages the premises and acts as a host for the guests. She will organise tours, sightseeing, walks, dinners or anything your heart desires. She is charming, efficient, and the lodge's greatest asset.

Room Tip: All rooms have stunning views. A verandah runs along the outside of the rooms.
Stayed February 2016

Bridget1942, Wagga Wagga, Australia via TripAdvisor

13 February 2016

Excellent small lodge

Staying here is like being a guest in a friend's house. The rooms are large & very comfortable, and the view from the verandah outside is amazing. The Kakas (New Zealand parrots) come to sit on the railing there. Lisa, the hostess of the lodge, is available to answer any questions about Stewart Island, and also to recommend activities. We took a couple of the walks she recommended, and also the kiwi trip - we saw a wild kiwi! This is a place we will definitely come back to.
Stayed January 2016

Gill037, London, UK via TripAdvisor

8 January 2016

"What a beautiful place to stay"

What a beautiful place to stay.  Very enjoyable.

Stayed January 2016

Debbie & Alan, California, USA via customer feedback

13 November 2015

"Never wanted to leave"

Loved celebrating our honeymoon here.  Never wanted to leave.

Stayed November 2015

Chad & Lindsay, Ohio, USA via customer feedback

13 October 2015

"Small lodge in NZ birding island"

Stewart island lodge is small place- can hold 10-12 people. Nice, comfy, tidy. Amenities are good considering is on an offshore island. The views are really good, the staff (Chris - manager) are helpful, courteous and friendly. Breakfast is essentially some fruit, cereal, bread/bagels/jam tea and coffee. Major attraction is that Stewart is is one of the few places with preserved (native) flora and fauna in NZ.

Stayed October 2015

Shashi K, Cincinnati, USA via TripAdvisor

14 May 2015

"Amazing views"

Amazing views and comfy beds!

Stayed May 2015

Susan, Kapiti Coast, New Zealand via customer feedback

11 April 2015

"Fantastic views and service"

We stayed 2 nights. We were picked up and brought to the hotel upon landing.
Our room was lovely. Breathtaking views.  Lisa gave us a tour of the hotel (very clean) and showed us maps of the area with suggestions. She booked tours for us and offered dinner reservations. She was very pleasant and helpful. We had an early morning tour and Lisa had breakfast ready for us. Laundry facility on site was handy. Can't wait to come again.

Stayed April 2015

Maggie M, Massachusetts, USA via TripAdvisor

28 April 2015

"Great staff, fantastic place"

Great staff, fantastic place.  Awesome wildlife.  We'll be back.

Stayed April 2015

Allan, Canterbury, New Zealand via customer feedback

16 March 2015

"The place to stay on Stewart Island"

Have just returned from a 5 night stay at Stewart Island Lodge. Lisa did an amazing job of making us feel so welcome and backed that up with great advice on what to see and do while we were on the island. She really took an interest in our activities and how to make the most of our 5 days. She booked tours and restaurants for us - nothing was too much trouble. Thanks Lisa.

Stayed March 2015

Travelholic8, Christchurch, New Zealand via TripAdvisor

24 January 2015

"Clean, warm and lovely views"

From the pick up at the ferry to the breakfast and send off, the staff were very warm and helpful. They have laundry facilities, a drying room, and a nice, large tub after a day of walking. The birdsong and views of Oban town are spectacular.

Stayed January 2015

Whats4dessert, Tokyo, Japan via TripAdvisor

13 January 2015

"Amazing view"

4 of 5 stars Reviewed 13 January 2015

We had one night at the lodge after a night out tramping so were pleased to get to our room and relax, the bed was sooo comfortable and huge. Staff were very friendly and let us store gear there the night before arrival and left breakfast out later for us. Huge selection at breakfast. Close to town although reasonably steep hill to climb up. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed December 2014, travelled as a couple

We had one night at the lodge after a night out tramping so were pleased to get to our room and relax, the bed was sooo comfortable and huge. Staff were very friendly and let us store gear there the night before arrival and left breakfast out later for us. Huge selection at breakfast. Close to town although reasonably steep hill to climb up. Would recommend and stay again.

Stayed December 2014

Anna B, Christchurch, New Zealand via TripAdvisor

18 November 2014

"Fantastic views and very good staff"

The Stewart Island Lodge is extremely comfortable with stunning views over Oban. The rooms are very well equipped and have lovely beds. Breakfast is continental with fruis, cereal, yogurts and a variety of nice breads andBagels. Eating breakfast and taking in the views is close to perfect. The manager is really helpful and gas great local knowledge. Ask her advice and she will give you good info. The gardens are being restored to their former glory and with a little more help will be stunning. The gardens are a major drawer of birds especially parrots.

Stayed November 2014

CaptTravel, Spratton, UK via TripAdvisor

27 October 2014

"Fabulous"

We stayed for 2 nights and wished for more. A beautiful place, with everything we could have wanted. The rooms were warm, large and luxurious, the dressing room an added bonus, as were the chocolates each day. A huge bathroom and a balcony with180 degree views across Oban and visits by friendly Kaka each morning and evening.
To add to that our hostess Lisa was a real gem, professional, welcoming and knowledgable and could not be more helpful answering our many questions about this incredible island.

Stayed October 2014

EAS509 via TripAdvisor

25 May 2014

"Lovely Lodge"

A great place to stay. Lisa was very helpful and knowledgeable. Loved the views over the harbour and visits from almost tame Kaka. Good breakfast each day. Comfortable super king size bed. Easy walking distance of village.

Stayed May 2014

Fionaingill, Invercargill, New Zealand via TripAdvisor

8 May 2014

"A Piece of Paradise"

A great break away. Stewart Island Lodge provides wonderful quality accommodation and the views are just amazing. The lodge is a short walk from everywhere (although walking back up the hill will test your muscles!). Super comfy bed and a really enjoyable start to each day sharing the breakfast table with other guests. Staff were helpful and friendly. We highly recommend : )

Stayed April 2014

n0rmie, Perth, Australia via TripAdvisor

9 April 2014

"One more New Zealand Treasure"

In a country full of wonderful sights and experiences, a visit to Stewart Island is a real treat and the Stewart Island Lodge is one of the reasons. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights - we were thrilled with the facilities .....

Stayed April 2014  

kle6072 San Fransisco, USA via TripAdvisor

8 March 2014

"A wonderful place to get away from it all"

The lodge is clean, comfortable and welcoming. The views and the surroundings are unbeatable.....

Stayed March 2014

Dave R, Bordon, UK via TripAdvisor

2 February 2014

"Brilliant Place"

The lodge is brilliant with views that give you the wow feeling, you stand on the balcony / decking and look out over the harbour and it gives you the feeling of bliss, it's just great.

Stayed February 2014

kathryn11, Bury, UK via TripAdvisor

Book

Sorry. The booking process is not supported when in private browsing or incognito mode.

Try turning off private browsing or incognito mode to continue.