Close
  • 7248-Stewart-Island-Lodge.jpg 7248-Stewart-Island-Lodge.jpg

    Stewart Island

    Stewart Island Lodge

    Stewart Island
  • 01-Stewart-Island-Lodge-Halfmoon-Bay.jpg 01-Stewart-Island-Lodge-Halfmoon-Bay.jpg

    Stewart Island

    Stewart Island Lodge

    Halfmoon Bay, Stewart Island
  • Prince-harry-kaka-Lisa-Benson.jpg Prince-harry-kaka-Lisa-Benson.jpg

    Stewart Island Lodge

    Prince Harry

    Stewart Island Lodge
    Credit: Lisa Benson

08 January 2016

"What a beautiful place to stay"

What a beautiful place to stay.  Very enjoyable.

Stayed January 2016

Debbie & Alan, California, USA via customer feedback

13 November 2015

"Never wanted to leave"

Loved celebrating our honeymoon here.  Never wanted to leave.

Stayed November 2015

Chad & Lindsay, Ohio, USA via customer feedback

13 October 2015

"Small lodge in NZ birding island"

Stewart island lodge is small place- can hold 10-12 people. Nice, comfy, tidy. Amenities are good considering is on an offshore island. The views are really good, the staff (Chris - manager) are helpful, courteous and friendly. Breakfast is essentially some fruit, cereal, bread/bagels/jam tea and coffee. Major attraction is that Stewart is is one of the few places with preserved (native) flora and fauna in NZ.

Stayed October 2015

Shashi K, Cincinnati, USA via TripAdvisor

14 May 2015

"Amazing views"

Amazing views and comfy beds!

Stayed May 2015

Susan, Kapiti Coast, New Zealand via customer feedback

11 April 2015

"Fantastic views and service"

We stayed 2 nights. We were picked up and brought to the hotel upon landing.
Our room was lovely. Breathtaking views.  Lisa gave us a tour of the hotel (very clean) and showed us maps of the area with suggestions. She booked tours for us and offered dinner reservations. She was very pleasant and helpful. We had an early morning tour and Lisa had breakfast ready for us. Laundry facility on site was handy. Can't wait to come again.

Stayed April 2015

Maggie M, Massachusetts, USA via TripAdvisor

28 April 2015

"Great staff, fantastic place"

Great staff, fantastic place.  Awesome wildlife.  We'll be back.

Stayed April 2015

Allan, Canterbury, New Zealand via customer feedback

16 March 2015

"The place to stay on Stewart Island"

Have just returned from a 5 night stay at Stewart Island Lodge. Lisa did an amazing job of making us feel so welcome and backed that up with great advice on what to see and do while we were on the island. She really took an interest in our activities and how to make the most of our 5 days. She booked tours and restaurants for us - nothing was too much trouble. Thanks Lisa.

Stayed March 2015

Travelholic8, Christchurch, New Zealand via TripAdvisor

24 January 2015

"Clean, warm and lovely views"

From the pick up at the ferry to the breakfast and send off, the staff were very warm and helpful. They have laundry facilities, a drying room, and a nice, large tub after a day of walking. The birdsong and views of Oban town are spectacular.

Stayed January 2015

Whats4dessert, Tokyo, Japan via TripAdvisor

13 January 2015

"Amazing view"

4 of 5 stars Reviewed 13 January 2015

We had one night at the lodge after a night out tramping so were pleased to get to our room and relax, the bed was sooo comfortable and huge. Staff were very friendly and let us store gear there the night before arrival and left breakfast out later for us. Huge selection at breakfast. Close to town although reasonably steep hill to climb up. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed December 2014, travelled as a couple

We had one night at the lodge after a night out tramping so were pleased to get to our room and relax, the bed was sooo comfortable and huge. Staff were very friendly and let us store gear there the night before arrival and left breakfast out later for us. Huge selection at breakfast. Close to town although reasonably steep hill to climb up. Would recommend and stay again.

Stayed December 2014

Anna B, Christchurch, New Zealand via TripAdvisor

18 November 2014

"Fantastic views and very good staff"

The Stewart Island Lodge is extremely comfortable with stunning views over Oban. The rooms are very well equipped and have lovely beds. Breakfast is continental with fruis, cereal, yogurts and a variety of nice breads andBagels. Eating breakfast and taking in the views is close to perfect. The manager is really helpful and gas great local knowledge. Ask her advice and she will give you good info. The gardens are being restored to their former glory and with a little more help will be stunning. The gardens are a major drawer of birds especially parrots.

Stayed November 2014

CaptTravel, Spratton, UK via TripAdvisor

27 October 2014

"Fabulous"

We stayed for 2 nights and wished for more. A beautiful place, with everything we could have wanted. The rooms were warm, large and luxurious, the dressing room an added bonus, as were the chocolates each day. A huge bathroom and a balcony with180 degree views across Oban and visits by friendly Kaka each morning and evening.
To add to that our hostess Lisa was a real gem, professional, welcoming and knowledgable and could not be more helpful answering our many questions about this incredible island.

Stayed October 2014

EAS509 via TripAdvisor

25 May 2014

"Lovely Lodge"

A great place to stay. Lisa was very helpful and knowledgeable. Loved the views over the harbour and visits from almost tame Kaka. Good breakfast each day. Comfortable super king size bed. Easy walking distance of village.

Stayed May 2014

Fionaingill, Invercargill, New Zealand via TripAdvisor

08 May 2014

"A Piece of Paradise"

A great break away. Stewart Island Lodge provides wonderful quality accommodation and the views are just amazing. The lodge is a short walk from everywhere (although walking back up the hill will test your muscles!). Super comfy bed and a really enjoyable start to each day sharing the breakfast table with other guests. Staff were helpful and friendly. We highly recommend : )

Stayed April 2014

n0rmie, Perth, Australia via TripAdvisor

09 April 2014

"One more New Zealand Treasure"

In a country full of wonderful sights and experiences, a visit to Stewart Island is a real treat and the Stewart Island Lodge is one of the reasons. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights - we were thrilled with the facilities .....

Stayed April 2014  

kle6072 San Fransisco, USA via TripAdvisor

08 March 2014

"A wonderful place to get away from it all"

The lodge is clean, comfortable and welcoming. The views and the surroundings are unbeatable.....

Stayed March 2014

Dave R, Bordon, UK via TripAdvisor

02 February 2014

"Brilliant Place"

The lodge is brilliant with views that give you the wow feeling, you stand on the balcony / decking and look out over the harbour and it gives you the feeling of bliss, it's just great.

Stayed February 2014

kathryn11, Bury, UK via TripAdvisor