Close
  • 2320r-Milford-Sound-Wanderer-Overnight-cruises.jpg 2320r-Milford-Sound-Wanderer-Overnight-cruises.jpg
    Milford Wanderer Overnight Cruises
  • 7079-Milford-Sound-Overnight.jpg 7079-Milford-Sound-Overnight.jpg
    Milford Wanderer, Milford Sound Overnight Cruises
    Milford Sound
  • 7101-Milford-Sound-Wanderer-Tender.jpg 7101-Milford-Sound-Wanderer-Tender.jpg
    Milford Wanderer, Milford Sound Overnight Cruises
    Milford Sound

Milford Wanderer Overnight Cruises

16 March 2018

"Best Way to see the Sound"

A group of us spent the night on the Wanderer, and loved every minute of it. You're in the midst of the sound after the crowds, planes and boats have gone, and seem to have it all to yourself. It was so warm out they even let folks jump off the boat into the water! Stargazing at night was amazing, and the staff was informative and friendly. Highly recommend taking the time to see the Sound from this perspective.

Andrea M, Seattle, USA via TripAdvisor

6 February 2018

"Best tour in New Zealand!!"

Truly the 8th wonder of the world! Real Journeys did an amazing job! Highly recommend the overnight cruise on the Wanderer! Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Awesome hike along the famous Milford Track! Must see!!

Frank M, San Francisco, California via TripAdvisor

4 January 2018

"A very special experience"

Our family spent a night in Milford Sound aboard Real Journeys' The Wanderer. The trip started at 4:30pm one day and ended at 9:15am the next morning. It was such a great way to experience Milford Sound -- from walking a portion of the Milford Track to jumping off the boat into the waters of the sound, to enjoying the first cup of morning coffee watching the sun rise over the mountains. Our time on the boat created what will be long lasting memories.

Sara E, Montclair, New Jersey via TripAdvisor

26 December 2017

"Milford Sound at its best!"

Simply the best way to experience Milford Sound. The overnight Cruise offers a virtually private tour when all the other boats have returned. Walk the Milford Track, spend the night on the Wanderer over an excellent meal, see the sun come up over the Mountains over breakfast, and if your lucky the Dolphins will amaze you! Great and enthusiastic crew doing everything possible to make this an unforgettable trip! Thanks Real Journeys! My tip: set your alarm, go on deck at night and watch the starry sky and mountain shadows. Wow!

Kris-Ania, Warsaw, Poland via TripAdvisor

19 December 2017

"Just amazing"

We went on the Milford Wanderer overnight and it was amazing. Spectacular scenery, great crew and wonderful food. Make sure you see the after dinner slideshow, I laughed till I cried. I can’t recommend Real Journeys highly enough.

471raewyns, via TripAdvisor

7 April 2017

"Must do bucket list trip!"

We did the overnight cruise on Milford Sound on Milford Wanderer and could not have been happier. Picked up from hotel in Queenstown by Craig. Very informative, funny trip through to the sound via Te Anau and many other rest/photo stops. Boarding the Wanderer was seamless and we were underway shortly after arriving. Well informed regarding what was happening throughout the evening and the rain made the cascades and waterfalls amazing ... The skipper and crew do amazing job highlighting all sights and give you heaps of fantastic photo opportunities. Hard to get a bad photo here though! Craig made the long bus trip back to Queenstown informative once again, very knowledgeable and never stuck for a word! We thoroughly loved the whole experience and can't recommend it enough.

lyngnarrwarre, Geelong, Australia via TripAdvisor

18 March 2017

"Overnight cruise on the Milford Wanderer"

We were blessed with wonderful clear dry weather for our overnight cruise. The boat was fairly small and with only 36 passengers it never felt crowded. Cabins were cute and the shared showers and toilets were clean. We had a lovely walk on the Milford Track with a very informative guide. The food was delicious and a few drinks out on deck looking up at the stars made for a perfect evening. The cruise the next morning was great, we got up close to waterfalls and the spectacular scenery. Our experience was topped off by a pod of bottlenose dolphins playing on the bow wave when we went out onto the Tasman sea. Perfect!

Amyls86, England, UK via TripAdvisor

10 March 2017

"Great overnight cruise"

We spent the night aboard the Milford Wanderer on Milford Sound. This is the smaller boat of the two Real Journeys boats who do the overnight cruise. It only has about 36 passengers plus the crew which makes it very easy to meet and talk to others on board.  The cruise included all food, tea, coffee, etc. The dinner and breakfast was great. We had a 1.5hr walk on the Milford Track and we were transferred from the main boat by tenders. The crew were very professional and very friendly. Would highly recommend.

johnpalmer2016, Mackay, Australia via TripAdvisor

6 February 2016

"Highlight of our New Zealand Trip"

Could not fault a thing on our overnight Milford Wanderer Cruise. From the moment we stepped on board we were welcomed by a very friendly and professional crew. Everything on board was very organised, the 3 course dinner and breakfast was very yummy and the servings were very generous, we had 2 teenage children with us and no one was left hungry.
The boat was very clean and our room was tidy and comfortable. We were concerned about the share bathrooms but need not have worried as they were all very clean and close to the rooms.  We found the boat very personal due to the smaller numbers on board and great for a family or couple. Scenery was amazing and we all enjoyed the walk on the Milford track ( thanks Felix). Would highly recommend, it was a great way to see Milford sound at sunset and sunrise.

Visited January 2016

Craig H, Adelaide, Australia via TripAdvisor

15 December 2015

"We were treated as very special guests"

From the moment we made our phone inquiry with Real Journeys, everything about this trip flowed seamlessly. Nothing was a problem, from our pre-arranged pick up at the Divide after walking the Routeburn Track, to the private mini cruise in the tender, while the other passengers chose to walk a wee section of the Milford Track, to the delicious macadamia crusted kale crisps on our return to the Wanderer, we were treated as very special guests. I heard about this cruise some years ago, and had high expectations of the experience, all of which were fulfilled.

Reviewed December 2015

Susan, New Zealand via customer feedback

15 January 2016

"Overnight Cruise - Wanderer"

We did an overnight wanderer cruise with Real Journeys on 29th December 2015 & I'm glad that we did. It was a great fun and a unique experience to sleep on the boat.

Visited December 2015

Mr-and-Mrs-Mack, Brisbane, Australia via TripAdvisor

1 November 2015

"Overall, it was a fantastic trip"

We had such an enjoyable evening on the Milford Wanderer and the pleasure of having the usually-busy tourist spot all to ourselves.  The serenity and silence as the sun set was truly an experience to behold; with no wifi or mobile reception, we truly felt isolated from the stresses of everyday life in the best possible way. 
Of course, enjoying an amazing experience like this is only possible with a great crew. The nature guide, Chris, was very knowledgable and answered all our questions, even the tricky ones!  Getting to walk a section of the Milford Track was another highlight.  Seeing wildlife is never a guarantee but we got lucky and had a close experience with a humpback whale just 15 metres away from the boat. It even swam under the hull and resurfaced on the other side! 
At dusk, we also heard the chatter of penguins in the dark - this was thanks to Chris's recommendation as well.  Overall, it was a fantastic trip and one of the most enjoyable activities on our three-week holiday.

Reviewed November 2015

Eliza, Australia via customer feedback

15 November 2015

Milford Wanderer Overnight Cruise

We did not expect the Milford Track hiking with a guide, which was a good surprise. At night, we had a seal and a penguin near us. Also the morning cruise with narration about what we can see, was good. and the weather was great, we had a lot of rain, some sun and some rainbow.

Reviewed: November 2015

Mai Nishida, Japan via customer feedback

27 January 2014

"Absolutely amazing"

My husband and I went on the Milford Wanderer overnight cruise with Real Journeys. I cannot say enough good things about this tour. From the scenery to the crew to the food to the facilities, etc....wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. The dolphins greeting us on our way back in the morning was the icing on the cake. Worth every penny. These memories will last a lifetime.

Visited January 2014

NorthernGirl1963, Ontario, Canada via TripAdvisor

Book

Sorry. The booking process is not supported when in private browsing or incognito mode.

Try turning off private browsing or incognito mode to continue.